Wedding Wishes

Posted: April 17, 2012 in Cards, Papertrey Ink

Hello there

I have a couple of cards for you today that were inspired by this card by Ashley Cannon Newell.  I pinned it to my Pinterest board ready for when I could get down to trying to re-create her masterpiece.

When I did the first one (on the left) and by the way, these photos were taken directly after each other, so I have no idea why they appear to be different colours, I stamped the whole background before I realised that I should have had the ‘shape’ on the diagonal.  I used PTI’s Giga Guidelines, which I recently acquired from someone who was selling it on the  Papertrey Forum (great place to pick up items on your wish list).

I don’t know if you can see from the above two shots, but on the second (diagonal) card, I put my layer through my my cuttlebug using my Diamond Impression Plate from PTI.  Now that I have found the right sandwich so that you can actually see the embossing, I desperately want to get more plates.  I wasn’t very impressed (excuse the pun) when I first tried them, but that was because (I now know) I wasn’t using the right CB sandwich, and so it wasn’t impressing the cardstock properly.  It leaves a lovely rich feel to the card which I love, love, love.

I finished off the two cards by adding some rhinestones to the centers of the ‘shapes’, and using some Chamomile Tea Dye on the edges.  I added two Prima flowers held in place with a little golden heart brad.  I don’t know if I should have used some ribbon on it as well, you be the judge, so I know for next time!?

Thanks for stopping by..

Comments
  1. charmwarm says:

    Abi, where have you been? It is good to “see” you again! 🙂 These cards are GORGEOUS! Hugs!

    • Lol. I have been waiting in the wings to get my mojo back!! I have kept up with everything you’ve done Charmaine and your kids are adorable (and getting so big!) Where does time go eh? Thanks so much for visiting me!

Leave a Reply

